Q&A about my gap year

  • Why did I take a gap year?

I have spent my whole life working hard, studying and starting a career, without questioning my path. After 10 years of non-stop dedication towards what? I needed to take a break and reassess the decisions I have made. I wanted to live without any shame, I wanted to do my soul searching, to find out who I am when everything is taken from me. 

  • Where did I spend my time?

In Yangshuo, Wuxi and Chang Zhou.

  • What did I do in this gap year?

I took a journey to explore beyond what is in Shanghai, learn from mentors and rediscover myself— transpersonal experiences, Lots of meditation—devotional exercises involving bodily movements and becoming more spiritual.

I also strengthened my physicality by doing regular work-outs, light fasting and yoga. cleared up my body and added more muscles.

With the amount of alone time I have had, I truly have been able to reflect , refine, adjust and rebuild, forming into a durable and accurate memory, infinite possibilities.

  • What did I study?

I read over 20 books and 6000 articles and watched 50 movies, on topics such as Buddhism and Taoism, economics and industry knowledge. Documentaries that broadened my understanding of the world outside of China.

  • What did I learn in this gap year?

Improving self-awareness (always knowing my feelings; understanding my inner order, value concepts; observing and expressing my ideas, beliefs; knowing my source of power), promoting the control of the body and mind.

Understanding others (empathy); searching reasons and logics for the movements of beings’ mind, feeling the rheological situation; distinguishing right from wrong in the absence of approval;  judging, summarizing and thinking in a mature rational way. giving more understanding, respect, appreciation and gratitude towards others. knowing what influence  my mood and behaviors would bring to others.

Keeping insight into the material, information, energy; observing the relations between science, art and freedom and discovering the connection between different existences.

  • What did I find?

The relations between reading and practice: reading will let you know how the world works, but experiencing is to verify if the scientific knowledge matches this world , conclusion to life’s questions are more than just multiple choice checkboxes on a piece of paper. 

we came to this planet of different reasons, all we need to find the connection and energy of love and peace inside ourselves.

  • Skills I refined:

reading, summarizing, analyzing, thinking, judging, decision-making, time management, emotional management, energy management.

  • How do I feel now?

I feel reborn, refined and balanced. My way of thinking has elevated, awakened my potential and enhanced my understanding of the truth of life, and I got known what is important;

I found the key to myself, then everything unfolds,  my inner feelings are more clearer.  I could see a big picture, I could be absolutely truthful with myself and I am now healthier and happier than I have ever been.

Leave a comment